Living on dreams from yesterday
Waking and you're not here
I wanna see your face, I want you near
Please Don't Keep Me Waiting � Olivia Newton-John

I�m still reeling from the show Thursday night. Tammy and I took the light rail over to the Pepsi Center, where in the parking lot was the Universal Lending Pavilion under the huge tent. There weren�t really any young people there, well not much younger than Tammy and I. I didn�t notice anyone of colour either, which I found odd. We passed the booths of merchandise that neither of us could afford, though I would�ve liked to have a tour program but it just wasn�t in the cards that night. We found our seats in the 8th row with a great view of the stage. I sat there in anticipation for I�d been waiting for this moment since I was in high school and Mom wouldn�t let me go to see her Physical Tour. The lights went out and the screen backstage was filled with images of Olivia from the late 60�s and followed her career through to the present day ending with pictures of her daughter, Chloe, singing to her mother while the band played the hits medley. Then the voice that seemed to come from nowhere started, �Maybe I hang around here. A little more than I should�� She walked out on to the stage and it was like that night in 1978 when I first laid eyes on her in Grease and the voices in my head sang, �AAAAHHHHH�.

She stared the show with �Have You Never Been Mellow� and then broke into �Xanadu�. It was all like a dream looking back. �Magic� was next followed by �Suddenly� in which one of the background men sang with her. She talked about her new CD called Indigo � Women In Song which is all covers of women. She sang �Anyone Who Had A Heart� and then they moved 3 stools to the front of the stage and she did a little acoustic set of old country songs. �Let Me Be There�, �Please Mister, Please�, �If You Love Me [Let Me Know]�, and then the acoustic samba version of �Physical� which can be found on her Duet�s CD called 2. Then it was back to the new CD and �Cry Me A River� followed by an 80�s medley of �The Rumour�, �Heart Attack�, Make A Move On Me�, and �Twist Of Fate�. She spoke of her battle with breast cancer and sang �Not Gonna Give Into It� and then spoke of the rainforest and sang �Don�t Cut Me Down� for the trees. This is when I turned to Tammy and said it was very Nancy of her to write a song for the trees.

As she walked to the back of the stage to put on her leather jacket the crowd went wild. We all knew the Grease songs were next and we were worked up and ready. �You�re The One That I Want� played and the crowd all sang the �Ooo Ooo Ooo� parts. We were up on our feet by the end of the song and she looked out at us and said, �Gee I�m sorry you didn�t like that one. You know every day people ask me what it was like to make Grease. I have to tell them it was awful. Everyday I had to dance with John Travolta and every day I have to sing with John Travolta and everyday ladies, I had to kiss John Travolta and that when I became Hopelessly Devoted to him.� People sing the strangest lines and it seemed everyone shouted out the chorus of �But Now� and then fade back to themselves. �Summer Nights� was next and we were asked to participate with the �Tell Me More� parts. Once again everyone shouted out at the end of the song �Summer dreams ripped at the seems but, OH.� Someone in the back was so loud it was reminiscent of Nancy at the game that day with her yell and even Olivia couldn�t hold back the laughter. The next song was dedicated to her friend in the audience �Sam�, it was so cool to hear the older songs done live. She said her goodnights and we waited for the encore. She came back out and sang �Alfie� and closed with �I Honestly Love You�.

Chew on that!

Quagmire Jan 1999 � Aug 2003


previous // next