We'll be like the Jetsons
You can be Jane my wife
Should I marry Jane tonight?
I�ll Do Anything � Jason Mraz

I was starting to worry about money the other day. I realized that I was getting back into the old bad habits and jumping into debt with both feet. The bad thing is that my student loans have gone up to about $300.00, which is about $100.00 more than they used to be and even though I pay less for my mortgage than I did for rent I�m finding it hard not to live paycheck to paycheck. To resolve this remedy I sold off some of my stock today for about $1700.00 and with the money I�ll be able to pay off my computer and have an extra $150.00 a month. This should hold me over until I get my taxes and bonus in February/March. Then I can start to pay my credit cards down and get back on track.

Once again I�m tired and having a hard time keeping my eyes open past 8. I have to force myself to stay up late because I woke up at 2 this morning again and I don�t want to do that again. Some weeks I just can�t win. If I go to bed to early then I wake up in the middle of the night and I can�t go back to sleep. If I go to bed too late then I�m tired the next day and I have to fight to stay awake at my desk come 1:00. I end up going to the vending machine and getting a Pepsi� or Mountain Dew� and then I get acid reflux big time because of the caffeine I need to stay awake. I was good today though I would just try and get up and walk it off or drink more water.

Tomorrow is Christi�s birthday, she�s going to be 25. It�s that just the cutest thing? I�m 12 years older than her. I told her today that I remember the year she was born and it was about the time I saw Grease the first time it was in the theatre. Then I started to think about things that were different for her than me. She didn�t know a world without Elvis impersonators while I remember the day the King died. She was only 3 at most when AIDS hit so she�ll never really know a world without it, well let�s hope that she will one day know a cure. There were others but it just made me feel really old so I stopped thinking about it. That�s about when Kitty told me that I looked like a distinguished man in the blue Tommy shirt. Talk about kicking me while I�m down!

I was thinking on the way home today that I need to start finishing up some songs. I�ve always wanted to write a song called The Distance since I heard Leeds by the Indigo Girls and today I heard that calling again with another Indigo song. Then I got to thinking that could be the title of the Joel song. I have the chorus but I can shift it around and get it in there somewhere. Then again the chorus is �What am I gonna do? You know that I�m in love with you.� But I wasn�t in love with him. I�m sure I�ll come up with something.

Chew on that!

Quagmire Jan 1999 � Aug 2003


previous // next