This is for all the lonely people
Thinking that life has left them dry
Don't give up until you drink from the silver cup
Lonely People � America

I was having lunch with Melinda today at Ruby Tuesday�s, which by the way does anyone know if that place is named after the Rolling Stones song? It�s hard to think of anything but that song every time I pass it. I was noticing how very beautiful she can be when she sets her mind to it. Let�s face it, the women I work with usually get up, tie their hair back and drag themselves in, most not even bothering to wear makeup. I made a deal with her on Monday that come June 1st we were going to start the see and be seen campaign. I even told her that I would go out to any place she wanted and I wouldn�t even make her go to a gay bar with me. The way I see it, her sister is the only thing holding her back. She has a soon to be 11 year old daughter that will be dating before her mother at this rate. We are the two that everyone is always saying things like, �Why don�t you have a boyfriend?�, �You need to put yourself out there, you�re so funny.�

I�ve just finished watching 4 hours of Sex and the City season 5. I�m lonely and I�m not afraid to say it. Unlike Carrie I don�t seem to be dating the city of Denver until the next man comes along. I�ve been looking through the personals again and once again they are filled with the same people that were there 2 years ago. The thing is, is that some of them are really good looking and I don�t know why they are still on there and current. Are they just picky or are they just looking for sex? I can understand if they were looking like some of the losers on there but they are actually hot, too hot for me to even reply to. Perhaps that�s the problem, they are not approachable. Then again there are those that approach the unapproachable on a daily basis and don�t seem to mind rejection. For example if I saw Thom (Queer Eye) on the street I would never in a million years approach him thinking that I could even get so much as a hello from him. But there he is on the show taunting me by telling the world that he is single. I know better to start watching Sex and the City because it always gets me to thinking. This season was particularly close to home for me because of the episode when they go to Atlantic City and all Carrie wants is to get a new picture of the foursome and she can�t seem to get them all together long enough. This is how I feel with my friends, I can�t seem to get them all in one spot at the same time to get that picture.

The worst part of watching is that I start to fantasize about romance and that always leads to depression because I realize that I�m lonely. Somewhere there is a drag queen out there reading this saying to the screen, �You could be jumpin�, get out there and mingle sweetie!� I know this, which is why I�m going to start up the see and be seen campaign again in June. This time I�m not waiting for Rod and Tammy to get out there, I�m waiting for Melinda instead. Every January I thinking the same thing, this will be the year I meet someone. Color me Charlotte but I don�t want just sex. I want the romance that goes along with it. If there are only 2 great loves that I have yet to meet them yet.

Chew on that!

Quagmire Jan 1999 � Aug 2003


previous // next