Lucy Stoners don't need boners
Ain't no man could ever own her
The faggot bashing poetry but the boys are just saying, "love me please."
Lucystoner � Amy Ray

I�ve recently discovered the Amy Ray solo CD. I�ve had this particular song in my MP3 files, free from the web site, but I listened to it for the first time on Tuesday. It�s quite different from the Indigo Girls I must say. I have to admit I like it though. It�s Amy�s release from her influences like the Ramones, the Replacements, and such. Does this mean that Emily will do a rap CD for her solo since she listens to Missy Elliot? That would be a trip.

I was watching Queer Eye last night and it dawned on me that there was nothing like this on when I was growing up gay in the 70s. All we had was Waylan Flowers and Madam, well later we had Jm J Bullock as Monroe on Too Close For Comfort. But my point is that being gay was not all that accepted as is it now and looking back it�s kind of strange to think that we got to the point where gay men are now being accused of being straight. I�ve heard the rumor that one of the Queer Eye�s is not really gay. Who could it be? Does it really matter? We�re still not accepted 100% when a straight man can get all kinds of praise for playing gay but an openly gay actor gets no mention for playing straight. I guess it�s because that what gay closeted actors do in Hollywood anyway. What would happen to the world if we were all honest with our sexuality and accepted as people and not for whom we love? Which leads me to gay marriage, you knew it was coming. Is it really going to hurt anyone if gays are allowed to marry? Are the rednecks just scared because if they allow gays to marry then it means we are finally accepted? People like Bush won�t live forever and somewhere out there is a child who will one day be president and he or she won�t have those old fashioned values. You really can�t have those values anymore in this day and age because they simply don�t exist anymore.

We were talking about tipping the other day. Who do you tip and when is it okay not to tip? The word alone means To Insure Prompt Service. Are you really getting prompt service at the local Starbucks? I�m sure those people get paid a decent wage, a lot more than the waitress at your local Denny�s I can tell you that. Yet there is a tip jar sitting out on the counter, and who gets these tips if there are 4 employees working that day or by the end of the day when perhaps 8 or 9 people have worked a shift? I was told that there is no such thing as tipping in Canada (Rob is that true?) and we all thought that might be a good thing here. Then again people in the restaurant business don�t get paid enough to put up with all the bullshit they get from the assholes of the world. I am always nice to my server and I usually tip 20% or more if I get good service, but what about those people that aren�t so nice? This poor server knows they aren�t getting a good tip yet they still have to serve it up quick with a smile. How in the hell did I get from gay marriage to tipping? I must be tired or something.

Today I went to our annual Kick Off meeting to start the new quarter to a great start. It was invite only and who knows why I was invited. It was nice, it was a live telecast that we watched on a big screen from the comfort of the Marriott hotel up the street from work. I do have to say that it really makes me proud to work for Nextel whenever I hear Tim Donahue talk. He is a great speaker and gets you worked up to want to do your job better. I think our bonus will reflect a job well done in 2003.

Chew on that!

Quagmire Jan 1999 � Aug 2003


previous // next