H.W.C.�
The gay man�s new anthem�
Or just another song about a guzzling Drama Queen?
H.W.C. � Liz Phair

What a dull and dreary day. There was nothing for us to do. That�s what happens when you have those over achieving fuckers on your team. They make the rest of us look bad and they finish all the work by 9am. We have sheets that we work on and there are about 35 account on one sheet. The over achievers do a minimum of 20 a day! I can barley get through 2 on a good day! So we all sat there looking busy all day and trying not to talk too loud. This makes me think that I might not have my job much longer. With all the lay offs that Nextel has done it scares me. The thing that really sucks is that we have this walk a mile program that lets you shadow with other departments, but you have to be in the top 30%, which is always those fucking over achievers. Meanwhile I can�t get enough work to make my stats and I can�t even think about sitting in on the Training department.

Still I wait impatiently for David to call me. It�s been almost a week and no word from him. I don�t want to write to him again and seem needy but what the fuck? I guess he�s not as excited to see me after 11 years as I am to see him. Maybe I should just let it go. Perhaps we weren�t meat to be friends. Of course you know all bets are off once the rat bastard finally calls me.

I�m going to sit down and finally balance my checkbook in Quicken tomorrow when I get home from work. I have some bills to pay and I better get to it before they shut off my heat. The sad thing is that I have the money to give them but I�m holding on to it for dear life. I of course don�t have enough for everyone but there�s enough to keep me afloat. I�ve been watching Reuniting the Band on VH1 all week. Tonight was The Alarm and I couldn�t believe I actually heard, �Don�t come in here and ride rough shod over me!� Which is from a Jenny Morris song called Save Me. Try as they might they couldn�t get Extreme back together again. Holly Johnson from Frankie Goes to Hollywood was made out to be a complete ass. �I�m no wedding singer.� Was his reply when asked if they would play a one night only show. He was a real drama queen let me tell you. I think Berlin was the best one so far and Kajagoogoo comes in a close second.

Chew on that!

Quagmire Jan 1999 � Aug 2003


previous // next