I was gonna be the prodigal or the banished friend
It took me ten years to call you back
But here we are today
Something Real � Indigo Girls

Is anyone really surprised that I�m pissed at Rod again? I swear he can be such an ass! Tammy and I had made plans to have dinner tonight at Good Friends, our usual Friday night sadly, and Rod says his brother will be in town and we should go with them to Good Friends. I called him this afternoon to find out what time and he had no idea because his brother wasn�t there yet. I told him that I didn�t want to sit in the smoking section because I know him too well. He doesn�t like to wait so he tells them first available even if it�s smoking. I just can�t take the smoke anymore. I�m through with coughing and gagging over some asshole who wants to smoke while I�m eating. So he said to me, �Don�t sit in smoking then.� So am I supposed to just leave then? I called Tammy at 5 to see what the plan was and what a shock the dinner plans had changed. So instead of Tammy and I going to Good Friends they were going to all meet at Rod�s place at 6:30 and have dinner who knows where and who knows what time. I told Tammy to go on without me because I knew I�d just get even more irritated with Rod and bring the whole evening down. So thank you Rod for fucking up my plans for the evening!

Tuesday was lesbian day for me and I picked up the new Indigo Girls and the new Melissa Etheridge CDs. There are a few songs that stand out on the Indigo Girls but I�m sure once I sit down with lyrics in hand I�ll love them all. The Melissa on the other hand had me at the first note. It�s funny because I heard a couple of the songs on VH1 acoustic and I didn�t care for them at all but she really rocks on the new CD. It�s funny how you can tell with some artists whether they�re happy or sad in their life. Melissa defiantly seems much happier than the last couple of CDs. Any has written a SKA song and I can�t help but think of Sex in the City when I listen to the words. I�ll have to sit down with the lyrics but I�m pretty sure I�ve heard the jest of it.

I awoke to a bitter cold in my house yesterday morning and realized when I got home that my heater wasn�t working. I called my Dad who couldn�t really help me as he lives in South Carolina and I am here in Colorado. I couldn�t get anyone out until today so I sat there in my cold house with snow falling outside the window. I don�t think it was as cold as Rod�s place gets but I was pretty cold. Unlike DIVA! I don�t have feathers to keep me warm, but I think she was a little cold too because she was chirping her disgust at me before I finally went to bed. $180.00 later my heater works again and the guy even explained everything to me so that I could fix it myself if it happens again. He was one of the nicest repairmen I�ve had the pleasure to have met in my life. He even cleaned a little pin that would normally cost $200.00 for him to come out and clean off. He was pretty good looking for an older guy and I don�t mind telling you that I had a little fantasy that he would throw down those tools and just do me with his tool.

Chew on that!

Quagmire Jan 1999 � Aug 2003


previous // next