Got no worries on my mind I know what to do
That�s to treat you right and love you kind
Love is just like breathing when it�s true
Free In You � Indigo Girls

I just saw the best movie. It was a gay movie that didn�t end with gay sex equals death. It�s called Mambo Italiano, and in the words of Darin, it was FABULOUS! It was just what I needed to get me out of the slump I was in. It was one of those days when you just feel sorry for yourself and the way your life has turned out. I was in that I�m done with this life already it�s going nowhere fast, let�s get to the next one, kind of day. I�m 36 and I�ve never been in love and I�m not happy with the way I look and I�m not happy with the way I�m treated and I�m not happy with anything about my life at the moment. It dawned on me this morning while in the shower that I�ve had this Labyrinthitis every year. It started in April of 2001 and then it hit again in January of 2002 and then this past December of 2003. I much rather die than have to go through it again. Is this my fate in life? Driving home from seeing Tammy I started thinking what if something did happen to me and I died? How long would it take for anyone to know? I live alone and it�s not that unusual for me not to talk to Tammy every day. I guess if I didn�t show up for work Margo would call Tammy or hopefully someone would try to call her since she has a key. At least I don�t have a dog or cat that would start to eat away at my dead face or some sick shit like that. These are the things that were going through my head today.

Last night we went to Casa Bonita, which is the place everyone in Denver takes out of town visitors, even though the food is the worse Mexican you�ll ever have in your life. Taco Bell is gourmet in comparison, really. You really go there for the atmosphere and the cliff divers. You walk in and you find yourself standing in line like you�re at Disneyland, then you realize that you are just waiting to have your order taken. Your food slides through a hole in the wall and then you are off to be seated. We got lucky and were seated near the waterfall so we could watch the cliff diver. I have to admit there were Fernando�s a plenty in the beautiful house. I asked Tammy to be my beard for the night because it was 2 other couples that went and I didn�t want to feel like the 5th wheel. Amy took us all on a tour after dinner and we got to experience Casa Bonita from a childhood memory perspective, since she�s been going there ever since she was a girl, she knew just about everything there was to know about it. I think I can wait another 12 years before going back there again. Really, the food is just that bad.

Chew on that!

Quagmire Jan 1999 � Aug 2003


previous // next