It�s almost like the hard times circle �round
A couple of drops and they all start coming down
I might feel defeated, I might hang my head
Bring On The Rain � JoDee Messina

Yes, bring on the April showers! Finally we have rain! I wasn�t happy driving in the rain at night because I can�t see but I was glad to be unhappy with the little drops of rain the on the windshield. Tammy and I did our usual Friday night but with out Rad Rod, because the bastard skipped town on us. I finally talked to him the other day and told him that I was still mad but I�ll get over it. He said that he had talked to Sean & Scott and they mentioned having a house warming when he gets settled and I, of course being the bitter man that I am said I wasn�t going to be there. His reply was to tell me that I would be sitting at home alone while they were all out having fun. I don�t think he expected my reply of, �And you point is what? How soon you forget the nights I sat here alone when Sean & I weren�t talking. What else do you have?�

I can now add older man to my resume of life. I picked up my bifocals the other day and I can now see the world clearly. They are a blessing and a curse! It�s good that I can see but I thought I�d only have to wear them for driving and reading and I was told to wear the for 2 weeks to get my eyes used to them. Now when I take them off to give my eyes a break I can�t see a damn thing! I was flipping channels the other day and I found myself stopping at VH1 Country. Gawd am I that old? Yes, I am that old because the next day I was at Erin�s desk asking to she had Tim McGraw or JoDee Messina, which she did and I promptly took home to make copies. Tonight I even picked up the JoDee Messina�s Greatest Hits as well as Dolly Parton�s Greatest Hits. I had to even it out with Janet Jackson�s new CD. I�m turning into my Mother at the age of 36! She started listening to Country when she hit 50 and Dad started shortly thereafter.

I�ve started walking again. I can�t fit fat, lazy, ugly, and old on my life resume so I�m trying to take the fat and lazy out and just leave ugly and old. Christi and I walked around the lake the other day and I actually felt pretty good afterward, I wasn�t too exhausted or sore. I really want a dog now so I can take her for a walk and it would be a great incentive to get my lazy ass out there. I�m going to walk to the bank in the morning to deposit my check, then again I might not if it�s raining too hard.

I have a new crush at work and his name is David. I know this because he happened to be in the elevator with us the other day and I scanned him to find his name badge. I don�t remember when he caught my eye, maybe a month ago. He looks to be in his early to mid 20�s and he�s just too cute, even though he looks a bit red neckish at times. He walks by us everyday on break and we�ve been making eye contact and in an Alley McBeal moment he nodded at me. Margo and Christi don�t think he�s gay so I�ll have to end my crush before I turn into a stalker. Truth be told I didn�t get the eye contact today on break and he did give me kind of a scowl in the elevator. I did agree to go to Charlie�s next week but I�m starting to feel that all too familiar feeling of I don�t belong welling up. I don�t usually think that poorly of myself but I�m starting to feel like the ugly old troll man that no one wants to go out with. I am going to try and force myself to go so maybe I can finally come to terms with my demons.

I did buy the Olivia DVD Tuesday and with only 5 video�s, it left me wanting more. It was great to see �A Little More Love�, �Deeper Than The Night�, and �Totally Hot� but I want more! I think she needs to release a video collection on DVD with her older videos. Maybe with the box set she�ll have something.

Chew on that!

Quagmire Jan 1999 � Aug 2003


previous // next