You asked me to dinner
You brought me stuff
Now what do I make of that
Driving With One Hand On The Wheel � Aimee Mann

Can someone tell me why is it that when men reply to my ad they either don�t have a picture or are in another country? I don�t get it. I�ve had more then my share of replies from men in Portugal and they�ve all been hot but I�m not in Portugal I�m here in Colorado. I don�t know where this latest one is from but I�m thinking Russia, again very cool, but I�m not in Russia. Someone said something that hit home yesterday. They said they were lonely and I can certainly relate to that. It usually starts around this time every year when you really hate being alone. I guess it�s because of the family holidays that are drilling down on us. It�s worse for people like me that can�t see their family every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas. Sure I get invited somewhere every year but it�s just not the same as being with family.

My birthday is a little less than 2 weeks away and I know the whole Margo thing is going to fail, I can feel it. Maybe I just want it to because I don�t want her to try and get me drunk. She wants to meet at the Rio, a place that�s known for their margaritas and not the food. That can only mean that she wants me to have one and I don�t want to. I think Tammy and I will go for Sushi instead since it�s my birthday and all should I get to chose? Then it�s off to JR�s where they have $1.00 beer, though Tammy calls it piss water, I don�t mind it. I already warned Margo that there will be no shots offered to me. I just can�t stand the taste of alcohol; beer is about as much as I can stand. Back to Margo, her son has court that day and I bet she won�t remember to ask for the day off from her second job. The one she has so she can work herself to death in order to make sure her son stays in collage after he went to jail 3 times for stealing cars.

I might have to start thinking about a second job myself since Partylite was a total bust for me and I�ve got nothing to show but an overdrawn bank account for it. As soon as Dead Like Me is over I�m getting rid of HBO and Showtime because I can�t pay $128.00 for cable every month. Between the $625.00 mortgage and the $287.00 student loans every month I�ve got nothing for other bills. We do get and extra check this month but it�s not going to help me out much. Murphy�s Law indicates that I�ll meet someone at this stage of brokenness and have to make up reasons why I can�t go out so he doesn�t think I�m a total loser.

This month is all about The Sims 2 and how cool it is. I�ve been playing so much that I�ve taken the X family pretty much to their graves. I�m waiting for their son to grow into a man so he can try to get abducted by aliens and become pregnant.


That�s the long and short of it!

Quagmire Jan 1999 � Aug 2003



previous // next