Did you know when you go
It's the perfect ending
To the bad day I've gotten used to spending
My Favorite Mistake � Sheryl Crow

It�s been too long since I�ve written and I am sorry for that. I�ve been busy believe it or not. I went to California for my aunt�s 80th birthday and spent 2 days at Disneyland getting the VIP treatment from my cousin.

I started out in Bakersfield with my cousin, Paquette, and I was able to give her the INXS box set Sean & I made for her. She LOVED it! I put everything of INXS I had onto a total of 25 CDs with the original artwork labels and a few extras. They were all double CDs with the original track listings and the second disc had all the b-sides and remixes I had. I�m sure she has every mix known to man of Suicide Blonde now. I stayed with her and Ron for Friday and Sat night and then I was off to Camarillo on Sunday morning. The town where I grew up, the town that holds nothing but bitter sweet memories for me. It�s gotten so big that it doesn�t even feel like I ever lived there. It�s never easy going back home but in my case the home where I once lived has been sold and the new residents have completely moved the driveway and re-landscaped the entire front yard so that it doesn�t� resemble anything close to it�s original state. Dad drove us by and then by the elementary school I used to go to that was right up the street and even that has changed drastically. Where there once was green grass and trees now stood concrete driveways and a tent like structure with cafeteria style tables under it for eating lunches. My junior high school has been re-painted with new buildings added onto it making it look much bigger than I remember. Like I said, it�s like I never lived there. It�s like someone had just planted memories into my head that were never really there.

We made our way to the party in Simi Valley and waited for Edna and her kids to bring her in. People starting coming in one by one. Cousins and relatives that I hadn�t seen in 20 years or so. I know this is wrong to say but I�ve never seen so many Fernando�s in my life. Yes, I come from a family of Fernando�s. I am a Fernando! It�s true, I can�t believe it but it�s true. There is one cousin that has never married and is believed to be gay but no one talks about it. He is one of five brothers all of which are better looking than the next. I met some of their children who were in diapers when I last saw them or not even born yet. I�ll never forget when I looked up and saw the most beautiful man I�ve ever seen in my life, only to learn that he is my cousin. He has got to be the ultimate Fernando. Is it still wrong if it�s your 3rd or 4th cousin and you are both gay? Not that he is or I would but a boy can dream. As usual everyone told me that I looked just like my Dad. �It�s like someone turned back time only you�re better looking than he is.� It�s easier to tell us apart now that his beard comes in mostly white now and I only have a few grey hairs in my goatee.

Finally the moment had arrived. Edna walked in and looked right at us but it didn�t register in her mind who we were until she looked over and everyone yelled out SURPRISE! That�s when the tears started and I�m sorry but I was emotional, Edna cried too. I would have to say that it was a big success. As a special treat Teresa put together a slide show of Edna from my grandparents, to her as a bay, through 16 years until Dad came along, and then through her kids, me, and ended with her and her late boyfriend. There wasn�t a dry eye in the house.

To Be Continued�


That�s the long and short of it!

Quagmire Jan 1999 � Aug 2003



previous // next