Did you know, could you tell
You were the only one
That I ever loved
My Favorite Mistake � Sheryl Crow

By 7 everyone was starting to disappear and it was time to go back to Edna�s. With the time change I felt like I was 2 hours ahead of everyone else and I was ready to go to bed by 8! I forced myself to stay up and Linda and I made Edna open the few gifts that she got and the pile of cards. I think she was still a little surprised the next morning when we were on our way to breakfast. She took me to a little place called VIP�s and it was like a scene from Magnolia or some Indy film you�d watch on cable. I got her talking about her kids and what it was like living in LA back in the 50�s and of course my Dad. She�s a walking history book and I was thirsty for knowledge. Because you can�t ask them when they�re gone.

Mom & Dad came by to get me and we met Teresa and were off to Disneyland! Little did we know that she had pulled her VIP card and upgraded our hotel to a suite in the Grand Californian. WOW! We felt like celebrities. We had our own rooms inside the suite! I think it was bigger than my townhouse. Paul McCartney had stayed in that very room the week before we got there. Mom & Dad took the master room with the steam shower and sauna tub. We dropped off our bags and were off to California Adventure. Did I mention that the hotel is inside the park? Our view from the balcony was looking down at the guests getting on the rapids ride. When we got back later they had already turned down the beds and laid out robes and slippers. We went to Yamabuki�s for sushi and since Teresa knew the sushi chef we sat at the bar and he kept making things for us until we could eat no more. When we got back to the room there were chocolate peanut butter cookies and milk waiting for us. After what felt like sleeping on a cloud we were off to the Storybook Caf� for a hearty breakfast before hitting Main Street in Disneyland. Teresa and I went on some rides that Mom & Dad didn�t want to go on and yes, I rode Thunder Mountain with no fear of death. By 7 that night we met Mom & Dad at Tortilla Joe�s for yummy margaritas and chips and salsa. We had dinner at the ESPN Zone and once again got the VIP Seats, like we did with Edna in Colorado last summer.

Sadly the next day I was on a flight back home to Colorado and the not so VIP life that I live. I did bring Tammy one of the Mickey Head Rice Crispy Treat Cookies dipped in chocolate though as if it were proof that it wasn�t just a dream. Then I was back to work the day after that. It was great to visit everyone but I think I was ready to come home, and poor DIVA! was stuck at bird prison. Poor thing wouldn�t come out of her cage for 3 days! The clipped the hell out of her wings and she didn�t make any noise what-so-ever once we got home. I felt terrible. Like I left her in some concentration camp for wayward birds. She�s finally back to normal but she has stubby little wings, shorter than I�ve ever trimmed them.

In other news I finally made it out without incident. I went to my friend�s birthday all by myself and meet Mark. You know it�s a little fantasy that I have to date a guy named Mark. We could be M&M. I hardly got to talk to him though so Amy invited me to the Celtic Tavern last Friday for drinks. Yes, I went and had a great time. Mark, however did not. I think he was holding onto the little altercation with the bar tender over his happy hour drink. I also met Kelly, and we hit it off right away. Turns out she�s had some of the same paranormal experiences as I have with seeing ghosts and such. Her grandmother was a psychic and so she can kind of read people. I wanted fabulous new friends and I guess I got them. Don�t worry Tammy, you�re still my favorite girl. I say to you, ask the universe and you shall receive.

I have no plans for Thanksgiving but the gang, minus Rod I�m sure, are all getting together for our own Thanksgiving Sat night. Next week is all 8 hour shifts and casual dress for the 3 days that we work. I think I�ll get me a little turkey breast and make some stuffing and mashed potatoes and hope that I don�t end up in the hospital again like last Christmas. I�m ready this time with Benadryl and left over anti-nausea suppositories in my fridge in case the labrynthitis comes back. I�m hopeful that I can make it through the year without getting it but at the same time I�m fearing the worst.

That�s the long and short of it!

Quagmire Jan 1999 � Aug 2003



previous // next