At Christmas time it's hard
But when you're having fun
There's a world outside your window
Do They Know It�s Christmas � Band Aid

Please forgive me as it�s been almost a month since my last update. I have a boyfriend now and everything else seems to get pushed off to the back burner. I�ve been so caught up in this romance I didn�t even decorate my house for Christmas. I feel bad that I wasn�t in the holiday spirit this year but it wasn�t because I was unhappy it�s just that I�ve been so incredibly happy with Mike that I can�t think of anything else. We�ve been dubbed M&M so for Christmas I got him a few M&M things which he found adorable. He got me the knife that Rachel Ray uses on Food Network� I used it last night to slice tomatoes and all I can say is WOW! It was like cutting butter it was so smooth! I was in shock when I opened the box to find the knife I�ve always wanted staring back at me. Then to add more joy to my joy of Christmas morning my cousin bought me a ceramic rooster for my kitchen. I�ve been saying that I want one so when people come over and see my kitchen they can utter the phrase, �Hey, you�ve got a nice looking cock.� I know I�m silly and ridiculous but I thought it was funny and it actually fits perfectly in my kitchen.

Tomorrow is our month anniversary and the funny thing is that both of us feel like we�ve been together for years already. I met the entire family yesterday. I think they all gave their approval. His mother just adores me, of course the booze helped. She had a margarita and started telling everyone how happy she was that all her children were there and how much she loved George, Joe, and then she stopped at me and leaned in for the hug and kiss. Mike looked over with a grin and mouthed, �You�re so in� and I knew I�d be back the next year. We went over to his sisters in the morning and there was a stocking waiting for me filled with little knick knacks and candy all individually wrapped. I couldn�t believe that they went to so much trouble for me. I gave his Mom some Partylite� Christmas candles and it made her day. I knew I was in with his sister and I think even his brothers gave their approval yesterday. His last boyfriend of 13 years was such an asshole that no one in the family would speak to him and they made sure to let him know that he wasn�t invited to any of their homes. When Mike and I were at the dinning room table eating you could see them all looking in from the living room because we were making each other laugh and you could tell by the looks on their faces he hadn�t laughed like that in a very long time.

I think it was the best Christmas I�ve had in a very long time.


That�s the long and short of it!

Quagmire Jan 1999 � Aug 2003



previous // next